Nossos serviços estão apresentando instabilidade no momento. Algumas informações podem não estar disponíveis.

IBGE releases list of municipalities in borderland strip

Section: Geosciences

March 27, 2019 10h00 AM | Last Updated: March 27, 2019 11h50 AM

The IBGE releases today the list of the 588 municipalities located in the Brazilian borderland strip, including their respective territorial areas. The borderland strip has a length of 15.9 thousand km, 150 km of width and the total area of 1.4 million km2, the equivalent of 16.6% of the Brazilian territory, including Lagoa dos Patos and Lagoa Mirim in Rio Grande do Sul. The digital files of this release can be accessed here.

The municipalities in the borderland strip are under a specific legislation for national security areas – Law no. 6,634/1979, regulated by Decree no. 85,064/1980 –, which establishes financial support from the federal government and hinders unauthorized granting of public lands and the construction of bridges, roads and airports, as well as the installment of mining companies, for instance.

The updating was the result of a number of geospatial operations, resulting in an extensive borderland strip that encompasses 11 Federation Units and 588 municipalities, of which 432 are completely inside the strip and 156, partially inside it. Another particularity is that 502 municipal capitals are located within the strip and 86, outside it.

The list of Municipalities in the Borderland Strip is a product derived from the Digital Municipal Mesh of Brazil. The changes brought in this edition are the result of more precise measurements through improved geo-processing tools, and do not involve any changes in the borders of Brazil with neighbor countries.