Nossos serviços estão apresentando instabilidade no momento. Algumas informações podem não estar disponíveis.

IBGE updates the list of municipalities that make up the Brazilian territorial divisions

Section: Geosciences

November 17, 2020 10h00 AM | Last Updated: November 17, 2020 10h18 AM

The IBGE carried out another semiannual update of the list of municipalities that make up the Metropolitan Areas (RMs), Integrated Development Areas (RIDEs) and Urban Agglomerations defined by state governments and the Union, based on information from June 30, 2020.

Since 2013, the IBGE has updated the composition of the different RMs, RIDEs and Urban Agglomerations instituted in the country every six months. Further information on regional divisions can be accessed

Review shows change in the composition of Pernambuco's  Metropolitan Area

The current IBGE review shows that, after Complementary Law No. 426 of April 3, 2020, the municipality of Goiana left the RM of Recife and became part of the Mata Norte Development Area. As a result, the RM of Recife was reduced to 14 municipalities: Abreu e Lima, Araçoiaba, Cabo de Santo Agostinho, Camaragibe, Igarassu, Ilha de Itamaracá, Ipojuca, Itapissuma, Jaboatão dos Guararapes, Moreno, Olinda, Paulista, São Lourenço da Mata and Recife, the capital of Pernambuco.

There are currently 74 metropolitan areas in Brazil, with the state with the largest number of MRs being Paraíba (12), followed by Santa Catarina (11), Alagoas (9) and Paraná (8). In addition, there are a total of five Urban Agglomerations in the country, three in the state of São Paulo and two in Rio Grande do Sul. There were no changes in the Brazilian Integrated Development Areas (RIDEs), nor in the other Metropolitan Areas.

The Metropolitan Areas and Urban Agglomerations are sections established by a complementary state law, pursuant to the provisions of the 1988 Federal Constitution, aiming at the integration of organization, planning and execution of public functions of common interest. It is the competence of the States to define the Metropolitan Areas and Urban Agglomerations, pursuant ot the terms of Article 25, Paragraph 3 of the Federal Constitution.

The Integrated Development Areas (RIDEs), in turn, are defined as administrative areas covering different Federation Units. RIDEs are created by specific legislation, in which the municipalities that compose them are listed and the operating structure and interests of the participating political-administrative units are defined. In the case of RIDEs, the Union has the competence to create them, in compliance with Article 43, Paragraph 1 of the Federal Constitution.

The Brazilian semi-arid region is a region that, due to climatic conditions, receives specific treatment. According to Resolution No. 115, of November 23, 2017, of Sudene, the region is composed of 1,262 municipalities, and the states with the highest number of municipalities in the semi-arid region are, respectively, Bahia (278), Paraíba (194), Piauí (185), Ceará (175), Rio Grande do Norte (147) and Pernambuco (123). The northeastern municipalities of the states of Maranhão, Alagoas and Sergipe are also part of the semi-arid region. The only state that is not in the Northeast Region and has municipalities that integrate the semi-arid region is Minas Gerais, with 91 municipalities.