Nossos serviços estão apresentando instabilidade no momento. Algumas informações podem não estar disponíveis.

IBGE discloses list of municipalities facing the sea

Section: Geosciences

June 22, 2020 10h00 AM | Last Updated: June 25, 2020 05h51 PM

The IBGE has disclosed today (22) the list of the 280 Brazilian  municipalities facing the sea. The digital files of this publication can be accessed here.

The update of the munciaipalities complies with Item I, of Article 4 of Section I of Chapter II of Decree 5300 of 12/07/2004. In 2019, 17 Federation Units and 280 munilipalities faced by the Atlantic were identified.

The work is the result of geospatial operations between the updated coastline and municipal outlines of the country's political-administrative division, which are part of the Municipal Mesh of Brazil.

In addition to the list of coastal municipalities, this survey also identifies the respective municipal headquarters and, also, the territorial area of each of the municipalities. The Excel file with this information can be found on the right of this page.