Nossos serviços estão apresentando instabilidade no momento. Algumas informações podem não estar disponíveis.

IBGE updates list of municipalities, municipal districts and subdistricts of the country

Section: Geosciences

May 18, 2020 10h00 AM | Last Updated: September 22, 2020 06h02 PM

The IBGE carried out one more update on the list of municipal subdivisions in the country. In relation to the previous year, the current survey, referring to 2019, adds 119 new municipal districts and three new sub-districts or administrative regions. The tables with this information can be accessed through the IBGE Portal, by clicking here.

The Brazilian Territorial Division details the territorial structure of the country, listing the Macroregions, Federation Units, Mesoregions, Microregions and Municipalities, in addition to their internal subdivisions, the districts and subdistricts or administrative regions. The IBGE systematizes all this information, monitoring any changes in the Political-Administrative Division, through annual updates.

In the most recent survey, referring to 2019, the Brazilian territorial structure has remained with 5,568 municipalities since 2013. Add to  these municipalities a federal district (Brasília) and a state district in Pernambuco (Fernando de Noronha).

Intramunicipal divisions, on the other hand, undergo changes with a greater dynamism. In 2019, there were 10,607 municipal districts and 686 subdistricts, against 10,496 districts and 683 subdistricts in 2018.

As part of its institutional mission, the IBGE records the events that take place in the Brazilian Territorial Division - DTB in order to update information of the country's territory in order to structure geoscientific studies and update the Territorial Base for operational purposes of Surveys, Census and Disclosure of Statistical Dat